Select 16 For 25th NCRAA

By: Anthony Servinio

SIXTEEN SCHOOLS are set to compete in the 25th National Capital Region Athletic Association (NCRAA) season, the league’s landmark Silver Season.  Established in 1993, the league will open shop this November 23 at the Cuneta Astrodome in Pasay City.

The teams are holdovers Asian Institute of Maritime Studies, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, Emilio Aguinaldo College-Cavite, De Ocampo Memorial College, National College of Business and Arts, Olivarez College, PATTS College of Aeronautics, Philippine Merchant Marine School, Philippine School of Business Administration-Quezon City, Saint Francis of Assisi College, Technological Institute of the Philippines and University of Makati.  Adding flavor to this year are the return of former NCRAA members AMA University and New Era University and first-timers Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Muntinlupa and Dagupan City-based University of Luzon.

The sixteen are set to participate in Basketball, Indoor and Beach Volleyball, Swimming, Taekwondo, Table Tennis, Badminton and Chess.  Dance Sport and 3X3 Basketball has also been added to the calendar as demonstration sports.

As part of the opening day festivities, the NCRAA will honor 25 of its outstanding products.  This early, over a hundred names from all sporting disciplines have been submitted for deliberation.

This year’s President is Engr. Patrick Nolasco of PMMS who succeeds Engr. Ted Cada of AIMS.  Commissioner Arturo Cristobal returns for another term while sportsman Manuel “Buddy” Encarnado has been named as the league’s General Manager.

Majority of the elimination round games will be at the A. R Valdez Hall of PATTS in Paranaque City.  TIP-Manila’s Big Court will serve as alternate venue while some out of town games will be held in the cities of Muntinlupa, Bacoor and Dagupan or Lingayen.

In addition to the 16 mentioned schools, the league also admitted Centro Escolar University, Philippine Christian University and Enderun Colleges. However, the three schools have opted to field entries beginning next season.

Last year, the NCRAA held a 16-school joint tournament with the Universities and Colleges of Luzon Athletic Association (UCLAA) dubbed as the NCRUCLAA and this will now go in the record books as the NCRAA’s 24th season.  Filing for a leave of absence are Colegio de San Lorenzo, Don Bosco Technical College-Mandaluyong, Philippine State College of Aeronautics and Rizal Technological University.


Original link: